a year on..

I remembered a long time ago somebody once told me that when the person was a freshie coming into NTU, there wasn’t much on Hall 5 on google. But there was this blog and i guess it was the warmth and family love that was felt, which inspired the person to try Vikings. I hope the feelings still holds today, despite circumstances and i hope somebody new out there in the near future will chance upon this too.

So as i sat alone in Paris waiting for my next flight, it made me wonder what happened exactly one year ago and how the past year had been.

Exactly around this time last year, i was having the cheer moment of my life, the wedding routine was my most enjoyable, if not it’s my favourite performance. Its not about what the outcome were but the whole journey instead. We cried we laughed we drank. Looking back now, time flew, our coaches had been happily married for a year, many things had happened, and yeah, we improved our ranking by 1.

Yes, things changed within this 1 year. I could still remembering the hangover (not from the wedding) which is the thoughts that my seniors (TG, TS, HW, Dom and Nghia) are leaving the team and its only left with Sam and i from here on out, but now, a year on i too, have graduated.

But i guess the only thing constant from all these is our love and passion for cheer and Vikings still remains. In a while time, i will be starting work and I’m not sure if i too could carry on my own cheer journey but at least I’m glad that there are still ppl in Vikings to keep it going. Yes, we may have our dramas, our ups and downs (our ratings were definitely a hit), but the show have to go on. What we felt, what we fought for, and what we believed in were definitely real. Every family usually have its own shit to deal with, ours were slightly shittier given there were 25 ppl. It’s definitely something that i will miss, something which i wouldn’t be able to own any part of in the future. And im sure each year carried it’s fair shit.

2 champion medals in 2 very different seasons. They say we won, but nobody mentioned what we lost too. Im sure we will pick up and prep for a new season ahead. Im not going to say the cliche “its not gonna be easy, its gonna be worth it”. Rather, its something that your gut feeling tells you to do. If you ever felt the hardwork, the tears and sweat of those before you, those with you and those after you, then you will find something within you to make you commit. Even Rome wasn’t built in a day.

I have made a promise to help Vikings in any way i can, so i will be back if im free. But for now, i shall finally hang my medals, to take a back seat and see what the future beholds.

 

We’ve come a long way from where we began.”

Leave a comment